5 comments on “In the defense of character limits.

  1. For a long time, World Of Warcraft has had a limit on the number of characters a player can have on a singular server, as well as a limit on the number of characters a player can have spread across all of the servers.
    When I first read the title of this blog post, I thought you were talking about text character limits and was getting ready to defend my stance against the ridiculously small ones that Son¥ has on its mobile devices. So glad I was mistaken. 🙂

    • *laugh* Trust me, I am in no way a friend of the text-character limitations that any device imposes. When I read people saying “X has a limit of 150 characters” like with Twit, I immediately think to myself “what? did someone kidnap me and drag me back to 1985?”. For what it is worth, I believe WOW needs to add at least another two character slots and provide some new twists on how to level the new toons. But since when have Blizzard ever listened to even the best-educated consumers?

      • The worst limits has to be in games. For example, if I’m allowed ten text characters, I can call my character Sheogorath and be happy with that, but any less and I will name my characters swears. Square Enix and/or Nintendo think they can stop me doing it by disallowing swearing, but that doesn’t stop me naming my main character Pysstayk, for example.

  2. The worst limits has to be in games. For example, if I’m allowed ten text characters, I can call my character Sheogorath and be happy with that, but any less and I will name my characters swears. Square Enix and/or Nintendo think they can stop me doing it by disallowing swearing, but that doesn’t stop me naming my main character Pysstayk, for example.

    • Yeah, I know what you mean. There are role-playing mods for WOW that allow one to modify how their character’s name appears in chat, but add-ons and mods only create more grief in the long run as everyone ends up having to update them and keep them from becoming a hard drive mess. :/

Chuck shit at me here

